Developer docking stations can turn a laptop into a desk setup with room for monitors, wired networking, and the peripherals your workflow depends on. My best overall pick is the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock for its 100W charging and dual-monitor support, while the Dell WD19S suits developers who need stronger laptop power delivery. For multi-display work across different computers, the Belkin 14-in-1 DisplayLink Dock offers another route. The main tradeoffs are native Thunderbolt or USB-C support versus DisplayLink software, plus monitor count, resolution, and charging needs. Read on for the full breakdown and help matching a dock to your laptop and workspace.
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- The Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock is the strongest all-round fit when your laptop supports Thunderbolt and you want dual monitors with 100W charging.
- The Dell WD19S prioritizes laptop power with 130W Power Delivery, while the D6000S is the Dell option for connecting up to three 4K displays.
- DisplayLink models fill a real compatibility gap for multi-monitor setups, but they depend on software and may not suit every managed or locked-down work computer.
- Several compact 8-in-1 and 11-in-1 docks trade breadth for simplicity; check their exact display and power limits before choosing them for a more demanding development desk.
- The lineup includes many dual- and triple-display options, but monitor count alone does not reveal whether a laptop can drive those screens natively or at the resolution and refresh rate you need.
| 8-in-1 USB-C Dual HDMI Docking Station | ![]() | Best Compact Value | Ports: 2 HDMI, USB-A 3.0, USB-A 2.0, USB-C data, SD/TF card reader, USB-C PD | Single-display support: Up to 4K at 30Hz | Dual-display support: Up to 1080p at 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 8-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI for Laptops | ![]() | Best for Windows Dual-Screen Setup | Port count: 8 | Video outputs: 2 HDMI, up to 4K at 30Hz | USB ports: USB 3.0 at 5Gbps, USB 2.0 at 480Mbps, USB-C data | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Dell Universal Dock D6000S – USB‑C/USB‑A PowerShare, supports up to three 4K displays, LED indicator, black | ![]() | Best for Mixed-Port Laptop Fleets | Model: D6000S | Host compatibility: Laptops with USB-C or USB-A | Display support: Up to three 4K displays | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Dell WD19S 180W USB-C Docking Station with 130W Power Delivery | ![]() | Best for Power-Hungry Dell Workstations | Model: WD19S | Host connection: USB-C | Power adapter: 180W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TobenONE MacBook Docking Station with Dual 4K Displays, 7 USB Ports, and 2.5 Gbps Ethernet | ![]() | Best for Compatible MacBook Desks | Display support: Dual 4K at 60Hz via dual HDMI | Ethernet: 2.5 Gbps | USB ports: 7 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock with 100W Charging and Dual Monitor Support | ![]() | Best for Thunderbolt Workstations | Connectivity: Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 5, USB4 | Data transfer: Up to 40Gbps | Laptop power delivery: Up to 100W (96W certified) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Belkin 14-in-1 DisplayLink Dual-Display USB-C Docking Station | ![]() | Best for Mixed USB-C Laptops | Ports: 14 | Display support: Up to 2 displays via HDMI or DisplayPort | Maximum display resolution: 4K at 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker Prime 14-in-1 Laptop Docking Station with Dual HDMI Displays | ![]() | Best for Multi-Device Charging | Total power output: 160W | USB-C ports: 3, up to 100W each | USB-A port: 1, up to 12W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| j5create USB-C 11-in-1 Docking Station with Dual 4K HDMI | ![]() | Best for an Organized Desk | Model: JCD3198 | Hardware interface: USB Type-C | Total ports: 11, including 5 USB ports and 2 HDMI ports | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TobenONE 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station for Triple Monitors | ![]() | Best for Three-Screen Setups | Ports: 13 | Display support: Up to 3 displays; dual 4K at 30Hz plus 1080p | USB ports: 4 USB-A and 2 USB-C | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TobenONE DisplayLink Docking Station for 3 Monitors with 120W Power Adapter | ![]() | Best for Maximum Displays | Ports: 18 | Video outputs: 3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort | Maximum display support: Up to 4 monitors on supported Windows laptops; up to 3 on macOS | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| TobenONE 15-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual 4K HDMI | ![]() | Best for Linux-Friendly Desk Expansion | Ports: 15 | Video: 2 HDMI, up to 4K at 60Hz | USB ports: 2 USB-C 10Gbps, 1 USB-A 10Gbps, 2 USB-A 5Gbps | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable Dual 1080p HDMI Universal Docking Station | ![]() | Best for Older USB-A Laptops | Display outputs: 2 HDMI, up to 1920×1200 | Host connectivity: USB-C or USB-A | USB ports: 2 USB 3.1 and 4 USB 2.0 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| WAVLINK DisplayLink Dual-Monitor Docking Station | ![]() | Best for Flexible 4K Monitor Connections | Display technology: DisplayLink | Maximum displays: 2 | Maximum resolution: 4K at 60Hz per monitor | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Plugable 13-in-1 USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station with 100W Charging | ![]() | Best for Three-Screen HDMI Setups | Ports: 13 | Video outputs: 3 HDMI | Display support: HDMI 1 up to 4K at 30Hz; HDMI 2 and 3 up to 1920×1200 at 60Hz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| developer docking station | Compatibility | Display support |
|---|---|---|
| 8-in-1 USB-C Dual HDMI Docking | USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 devices with video output support | — |
| 8-in-1 USB-C Docking Station w | USB-C with video output or Thunderbolt 3/4; Windows and macOS | — |
| Dell Universal Dock D6000S | — | Up to three 4K displays |
| Dell WD19S 180W USB-C Docking | — | — |
| TobenONE MacBook Docking Stati | Select Intel and Pro/Max MacBook models | Dual 4K at 60Hz via dual HDMI |
| Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock wi | Windows 10 and up; macOS display support varies by model | Dual 4K at 60Hz or one 8K display on compatible systems |
| Belkin 14-in-1 DisplayLink Dua | — | Up to 2 displays via HDMI or DisplayPort |
| Anker Prime 14-in-1 Laptop Doc | USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt; Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS | Up to 2K at 60Hz with DP 1.4; up to 1080p at 60Hz with DP 1.2 |
| j5create USB-C 11-in-1 Docking | — | Dual 4K (4K at 60Hz plus 4K at 30Hz) |
| TobenONE 13-in-1 USB-C Docking | — | Up to 3 displays; dual 4K at 30Hz plus 1080p |
| TobenONE DisplayLink Docking S | — | — |
| TobenONE 15-in-1 USB-C Docking | Windows, ChromeOS, and Linux with full-featured USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 | — |
| Plugable Dual 1080p HDMI Unive | Windows 10+, macOS 11+ with DisplayLink, ChromeOS 100+ | — |
| WAVLINK DisplayLink Dual-Monit | — | — |
| Plugable 13-in-1 USB-C Triple | Windows 10+, macOS 11+, ChromeOS; USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt | HDMI 1 up to 4K at 30Hz; HDMI 2 and 3 up to 1920×1200 at 60Hz |
More Details on Our Top Picks
8-in-1 USB-C Dual HDMI Docking Station
For a developer who needs a light travel hub, this dock combines dual HDMI, everyday USB connections, card readers, and laptop charging in a 3.46-inch body. It can drive one display at up to 4K at 30Hz or two at 1080p at 60Hz, so it suits coding with reference material on a second screen better than high-resolution multi-monitor work. Compared with the Dell WD19S, it is far smaller and adds card readers, but offers less charging power and less information about display flexibility. Windows can extend across two displays; macOS mirrors them, which limits separate workspace layouts. Its compactness also comes with practical constraints: the host USB-C port must support video, and the power adapter and charging cable are sold separately.
Pros:- Small, light body combines display, USB, card reader, and charging connections
- Windows supports two extended displays at up to 1080p at 60Hz
- Provides up to 87W laptop charging with a compatible power input
- Plug-and-play operation requires no driver installation
Cons:- macOS mirrors the external displays instead of extending the desktop
- Dual-display mode is limited to 1080p at 60Hz
- Power adapter and charging cable are not included
Best for: Laptop developers who travel and want a compact hub for USB accessories, card transfers, and a second 1080p screen on Windows.
Not ideal for: Mac developers who need two independent external desktops, or anyone who needs dual high-resolution monitors and a bundled power setup.
- Ports:2 HDMI, USB-A 3.0, USB-A 2.0, USB-C data, SD/TF card reader, USB-C PD
- Single-display support:Up to 4K at 30Hz
- Dual-display support:Up to 1080p at 60Hz
- Laptop power delivery:Up to 87W; accepts 100W PD input
- USB 3.0 transfer rate:5Gbps
- Compatibility:USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 devices with video output support
- Operating systems:Windows 11, macOS 13 Ventura
- Dimensions and weight:3.46 × 1.65 × 0.55 in; 1.92 oz
Our verdict“Choose it for a lightweight Windows travel setup with modest dual-screen needs; skip it if you need extended dual displays on macOS.”
8-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual HDMI for Laptops
Windows developers building a simple two-screen desk get a clearer fit here than with the first compact HDMI hub in this lineup: this model explicitly supports extended mode and lists dual HDMI output up to 4K at 30Hz on compatible laptops. That higher stated dual-display ceiling can make text and code easier to read, though the refresh rate is lower than 60Hz. It also packs USB-A, USB-C data, SD and TF readers, and up to 85W laptop charging into a small plastic enclosure. Like the 8-in-1 USB-C Dual HDMI Docking Station, it needs video-capable USB-C or Thunderbolt and macOS only mirrors the two screens. Developers should check their laptop’s display support before buying, and supply their own charger and cable.
Pros:- Windows extended mode supports dual HDMI displays up to 4K at 30Hz on compatible laptops
- Combines USB-A, USB-C data, SD, and TF connections
- Up to 85W laptop charging through compatible power input
- Compact design and driver-free operation
Cons:- macOS mirrors the same image across both external displays
- Plastic enclosure and 30Hz dual-display limit may not suit a premium desk setup
- Charger and power cord are not included
Best for: Windows laptop developers who want two external HDMI displays, card readers, and common USB ports in a small desk hub.
Not ideal for: Mac developers who need separate external workspaces, or users seeking higher-refresh dual displays or a metal enclosure.
- Port count:8
- Video outputs:2 HDMI, up to 4K at 30Hz
- USB ports:USB 3.0 at 5Gbps, USB 2.0 at 480Mbps, USB-C data
- Card readers:SD and TF; 20MB/s
- Laptop power delivery:Up to 85W; supports 100W PD input
- Display modes:Windows extended or mirrored; macOS mirrored only
- Compatibility:USB-C with video output or Thunderbolt 3/4; Windows and macOS
- Dimensions and weight:3.4 × 1.6 × 0.6 in; 2.24 oz
Our verdict“Pick it for a compact Windows desk with dual HDMI monitors; look elsewhere if your Mac workflow requires two distinct external screens.”
Dell Universal Dock D6000S – USB‑C/USB‑A PowerShare, supports up to three 4K displays, LED indicator, black
Shared developer desks with older and newer laptops benefit from the D6000S’s stated USB-C and USB-A compatibility, a flexibility the USB-C-only Dell WD19S does not offer. Support for up to three 4K displays makes it the most ambitious multi-screen option among these five products, while PowerShare can charge connected devices and an LED provides a quick status cue. That makes it a candidate for a workstation where multiple peripherals stay connected, rather than a pocket hub like either 8-in-1 model. The supplied product details do not specify the video connection types, charging wattage, or whether laptop power delivery is supported, so I would verify those requirements before assigning it to a particular workstation. It also lacks built-in Ethernet, a notable gap for developers who prefer wired networking.
Pros:- Works with laptops that have USB-C or USB-A
- Supports up to three 4K displays
- PowerShare can charge connected devices
- LED status indicator provides a visible connection cue
Cons:- No built-in Ethernet port
- Power delivery wattage is not specified in the supplied product details
- Video connector types are not specified in the supplied product details
Best for: IT teams and developers rotating between USB-A and USB-C laptops who need a fixed multi-monitor workstation.
Not ideal for: Developers who require built-in Ethernet or need confirmed laptop charging wattage and specific display connection details before purchase.
- Model:D6000S
- Host compatibility:Laptops with USB-C or USB-A
- Display support:Up to three 4K displays
- PowerShare:Enabled
- Status indicator:LED
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose the D6000S for mixed USB-A and USB-C fleets with multiple 4K screens, after confirming its connection and power details suit your laptops.”
Dell WD19S 180W USB-C Docking Station with 130W Power Delivery
Developers with a compatible USB-C workstation laptop may value the WD19S’s stated 130W power delivery more than the portability of the two 8-in-1 hubs. HDMI and dual DisplayPort outputs give it a useful mix for desks with existing monitors, while its 180W adapter is part of a more substantial fixed setup. Compared with the Dell Universal Dock D6000S, the WD19S provides a specific charging wattage and named display connectors, but its listed host connection is USB-C and its display-count limits are not supplied here. That missing detail makes it harder to match to a multi-monitor developer environment without checking laptop and monitor requirements. The product information also names no Ethernet or USB peripheral ports, so this listing alone does not establish that it can replace a full office dock.
Pros:- Provides up to 130W power delivery to a compatible laptop
- Includes a 180W power adapter
- Offers HDMI and dual DisplayPort video outputs
Cons:- USB-C is the only listed host connection
- Maximum display resolution and monitor count are not specified in the supplied details
- USB peripheral and Ethernet ports are not listed in the supplied details
Best for: Developers using a compatible USB-C laptop that needs up to 130W of power and connects to HDMI or DisplayPort monitors.
Not ideal for: Users who need documented USB peripheral or Ethernet connections, USB-A host compatibility, or confirmed multi-display limits before choosing a dock.
- Model:WD19S
- Host connection:USB-C
- Power adapter:180W
- Laptop power delivery:Up to 130W
- Video outputs:HDMI and dual DisplayPort
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose the WD19S when high stated laptop power and HDMI/DisplayPort connections match your USB-C workstation; verify the remaining port needs first.”
TobenONE MacBook Docking Station with Dual 4K Displays, 7 USB Ports, and 2.5 Gbps Ethernet
MacBook developers with a compatible model and two 4K monitors get a more tailored setup here than with the generic HDMI hubs, which limit macOS users to mirrored screens. This dock supports dual 4K at 60Hz on listed compatible MacBooks and adds 2.5 Gbps Ethernet, seven USB ports, and up to 100W pass-through charging. Those connections make it a stronger fit for a permanent desk with wired networking and multiple peripherals than the compact 8-in-1 USB-C Dual HDMI Docking Station. Compatibility is the deciding tradeoff: some base M1, M2, and M3 MacBooks can extend only one external display, and this dock does not work with Windows laptops or Apple monitors. Check the specific MacBook model before relying on its dual-screen capability.
Pros:- Supports dual 4K displays at 60Hz on compatible MacBooks
- 2.5 Gbps Ethernet suits fast wired network connections
- Seven USB ports support a peripheral-heavy desk
- Up to 100W laptop pass-through charging and a 20W USB-C charging port
Cons:- Not compatible with Windows laptops or Apple monitors
- Some base M1, M2, and M3 MacBooks support only one external display
- Dual-display capability depends on the exact MacBook model
Best for: Developers using a compatible Intel or Pro/Max MacBook who want two 4K monitors, fast wired networking, and several USB peripherals.
Not ideal for: Windows laptop users, Apple monitor owners, or developers with a base M1, M2, or M3 MacBook who need two extended external displays.
- Display support:Dual 4K at 60Hz via dual HDMI
- Ethernet:2.5 Gbps
- USB ports:7
- USB-C charging port:20W
- Laptop pass-through charging:Up to 100W
- Compatibility:Select Intel and Pro/Max MacBook models
- Known display limitation:Some base M1, M2, and M3 MacBooks support only one external display
- Incompatibility:Windows laptops and Apple monitors
Our verdict“Choose it for a compatible MacBook desk that needs dual 4K screens and wired networking, after checking your model’s external-display support.”
Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock with 100W Charging and Dual Monitor Support
Thunderbolt 4 bandwidth and driverless operation make this the strongest fit here for a developer building a stable, high-resolution desk setup around a compatible laptop. It supports two 4K displays at 60Hz and provides 13 ports, including Gigabit Ethernet, SD and microSD readers, and a downstream Thunderbolt port. Compared with the Belkin 14-in-1 DisplayLink Dock, it avoids DisplayLink software and offers faster data throughput, but its display flexibility depends more heavily on the computer: TB3 and non-Thunderbolt USB-C systems get only one external display. Mac display support also varies by model. I would choose it for a compatible Thunderbolt machine and skip it if the laptop’s display limits are uncertain or you need broad USB-C dual-screen support.
Pros:- Driverless Thunderbolt 4 connection supports up to 40Gbps data transfer
- Supports dual 4K displays at 60Hz on compatible systems
- Up to 100W laptop power delivery
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet, SD and microSD readers, and 13 total ports
Cons:- TB3 and non-Thunderbolt USB-C systems support only one external display
- Dual-display support varies across Mac models
- The 15W downstream Thunderbolt charging is modest for powering demanding accessories
Best for: Developers with a Thunderbolt 4 laptop who want two 4K monitors, fast peripheral connections, and driverless setup
Not ideal for: Developers using non-Thunderbolt USB-C laptops or Mac models with limited external display support, since dual-screen output may not work as expected
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 5, USB4
- Data transfer:Up to 40Gbps
- Laptop power delivery:Up to 100W (96W certified)
- Display support:Dual 4K at 60Hz or one 8K display on compatible systems
- Ports:13 total, including 2 HDMI, 5 USB, SD and microSD readers, audio, Gigabit Ethernet, and K-lock
- Downstream Thunderbolt charging:15W
- Compatibility:Windows 10 and up; macOS display support varies by model
Our verdict“Choose this dock for a compatible Thunderbolt 4 development workstation where driverless dual 4K output and fast connectivity matter most.”
Belkin 14-in-1 DisplayLink Dual-Display USB-C Docking Station
DisplayLink dual-screen support gives this dock a useful role for developers whose USB-C laptops cannot drive two external displays natively. It handles up to two 4K displays at 60Hz and supplies up to 100W charging, while its 14 ports, 1Gb Ethernet, and VESA mounting support a tidy shared desk. Compared with the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock, the Belkin is less dependent on Thunderbolt for dual-display output, but its data transfer tops out at 10Gbps rather than 40Gbps and dual-screen use requires DisplayLink. That software dependency may add setup and compatibility steps for managed machines. I’d favor it for a developer switching between varied USB-C laptops, while someone seeking a software-free Thunderbolt workflow should look at Plugable.
Pros:- Supports up to two 4K displays at 60Hz through HDMI or DisplayPort
- Provides up to 100W laptop charging
- 14 ports include legacy USB-A and 1Gb Ethernet
- VESA mountable housing uses at least 75% recycled materials
Cons:- DisplayLink software is required for dual-display functionality
- Data transfer is limited to 10Gbps
- A compatible USB-C laptop and separate display cables may be needed
Best for: Developers sharing a dual-monitor desk across compatible USB-C laptops that need DisplayLink to extend two screens
Not ideal for: Developers who cannot install DisplayLink software or want Thunderbolt-class peripheral bandwidth
- Ports:14
- Display support:Up to 2 displays via HDMI or DisplayPort
- Maximum display resolution:4K at 60Hz
- Laptop power delivery:Up to 100W
- Data transfer:Up to 10Gbps (USB 3.2 Gen 2)
- Ethernet:1Gb
- Mounting and security:VESA mountable; Kensington Lock compatible
- Coverage:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the Belkin when broad USB-C dual-display utility matters more than Thunderbolt bandwidth or a software-free setup.”
Anker Prime 14-in-1 Laptop Docking Station with Dual HDMI Displays
160W total power output sets this Anker apart for a developer desk that charges several USB-C devices alongside a laptop. Its three USB-C ports can each provide up to 100W, while dual HDMI outputs and 10Gbps data cover everyday monitors and peripherals. The tradeoff is a lower display ceiling than the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock: Anker specifies up to 2K at 60Hz with DP 1.4 or 1080p at 60Hz with DP 1.2, rather than dual 4K at 60Hz. It also cannot extend two independent displays on macOS, and Linux and 5120 × 1440 monitors are unsupported. I’d choose it for a Windows or ChromeOS desk with multiple devices to charge, not for a Linux workstation or high-resolution multi-monitor setup.
Pros:- 160W total power output supports charging multiple connected devices
- Three USB-C ports can each provide up to 100W
- Dual HDMI outputs simplify connecting two displays
- Supports data transfer up to 10Gbps
Cons:- Display support is limited to 2K at 60Hz with DP 1.4 or 1080p at 60Hz with DP 1.2
- macOS mirrors the same image across both external displays
- Linux and 5120 × 1440 monitors are unsupported
Best for: Windows or ChromeOS developers who charge a laptop and several USB-C devices from one dock and use modest-resolution dual displays
Not ideal for: Linux users, Mac users who need separate content on two external screens, and developers with 5120 × 1440 or higher-resolution monitor needs
- Total power output:160W
- USB-C ports:3, up to 100W each
- USB-A port:1, up to 12W
- Data transfer:Up to 10Gbps
- Display outputs:2 HDMI ports
- Display support:Up to 2K at 60Hz with DP 1.4; up to 1080p at 60Hz with DP 1.2
- Compatibility:USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt; Windows 10/11 and ChromeOS
- Limitations:No Linux support; macOS mirrors external displays; no 5120 × 1440 monitor support
Our verdict“Choose Anker for its multi-device charging capacity if your operating system and display resolution fit its limits.”
j5create USB-C 11-in-1 Docking Station with Dual 4K HDMI
Desk organization is the j5create’s clearest advantage: its vertical mount and cable storage can keep a developer’s frequently connected peripherals contained, while Ethernet, card readers, and audio reduce the need for separate adapters. It supports two 4K displays, though the stated modes are 4K at 60Hz plus 4K at 30Hz, and its HDMI output requires driver installation for 4K 30Hz on Mac and Windows. Compared with the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock, this is a USB-C-focused option with up to 130W pass-through charging, but it does not offer Plugable’s 40Gbps Thunderbolt connection or driverless display setup. I’d shortlist it for a developer who values a compact, orderly workspace and varied ports; skip it if quick, software-free deployment is a priority.
Pros:- Supports two external 4K displays in specified 60Hz and 30Hz modes
- Provides up to 130W laptop pass-through charging
- Combines Gigabit Ethernet, SD and microSD readers, and audio
- Vertical mount and cable storage help reduce desk clutter
Cons:- Driver installation is required for 4K 30Hz HDMI output on Mac and Windows
- The second 4K display is specified at 30Hz
- Display behavior depends on the host computer and its USB-C capabilities
Best for: Developers who want a vertically mounted USB-C dock with built-in cable storage, card readers, Ethernet, and two external displays
Not ideal for: Developers who need driverless monitor setup or consistent dual 4K at 60Hz output
- Model:JCD3198
- Hardware interface:USB Type-C
- Total ports:11, including 5 USB ports and 2 HDMI ports
- Display support:Dual 4K (4K at 60Hz plus 4K at 30Hz)
- Laptop pass-through charging:Up to 130W
- Data transfer:Two 10Gbps USB ports and two 5Gbps USB ports
- Additional connectivity:Gigabit Ethernet, SD/microSD reader, 3.5 mm audio jack
- Weight:14.4 ounces
Our verdict“Choose the j5create if desk organization and a broad set of connections outweigh driverless setup and matched 4K refresh rates.”
TobenONE 13-in-1 USB-C Docking Station for Triple Monitors
Three-display support gives this TobenONE a distinct purpose for developers who keep code, documentation, and a running application visible at once. It offers 13 ports, including VGA for an older monitor, plus SD/TF readers and Gigabit Ethernet; the included adapter supplies up to 57W of laptop charging. Compared with the j5create 11-in-1 Dock, the TobenONE can connect a third display and spans supported macOS, Windows, and ChromeOS laptops, but its stated dual-4K mode is only 30Hz and USB transfer tops out at 5Gbps. Some display modes also require drivers, and the host laptop’s ports determine what works. I’d pick it for a compatible three-screen desk with legacy display needs, but skip it for high-refresh 4K work or fast peripheral workflows.
Pros:- Supports up to three displays, including dual 4K at 30Hz plus 1080p
- 13 ports include VGA, four USB-A, two USB-C, Ethernet, and card readers
- Includes a 65W power adapter and delivers up to 57W laptop charging
- SD/TF reader supports simultaneous read and write
Cons:- Some display modes require driver installation
- USB transfer speeds top out at 5Gbps
- Display support depends on laptop port capabilities and compatibility
Best for: Developers with a supported laptop who want three connected displays, including a legacy VGA monitor, and broad desk connectivity
Not ideal for: Developers who require dual 4K at 60Hz, fast USB transfers, or a setup that avoids display drivers
- Ports:13
- Display support:Up to 3 displays; dual 4K at 30Hz plus 1080p
- USB ports:4 USB-A and 2 USB-C
- Other connectivity:VGA, Gigabit Ethernet, SD/TF card reader, 3.5 mm audio
- USB transfer speed:Up to 5Gbps
- Laptop charging:Up to 57W
- Power adapter:65W
- Dimensions and weight:5.9 × 5.9 × 1.05 inches; 1.8 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this TobenONE for a compatible workstation that benefits from three screens and VGA, while accepting slower transfers and 30Hz dual 4K.”
TobenONE DisplayLink Docking Station for 3 Monitors with 120W Power Adapter
Four-display capacity gives this dock a specific advantage for developers who keep code, logs, documentation, and test output visible at once. It offers 18 ports, a mix of HDMI and DisplayPort outputs, and up to 100W laptop charging, so one connection can handle a substantial desk setup. Compared with the Plugable 13-in-1 USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station, it can drive more screens on supported Windows laptops and offers more charging headroom for connected devices. The tradeoff is its reliance on DisplayLink drivers, which add setup and compatibility checks; Linux and Unix are unsupported, and some paid streaming content may not play. I’d rank it for display-heavy workflows, while developers who need native Linux support should choose another dock.
Pros:- Supports up to four 4K displays on supported Windows laptops
- Includes a 120W adapter and delivers up to 100W laptop charging
- 18 ports cover a wide range of peripherals
- Offers up to 10Gbps data transfer and 18W phone charging
Cons:- DisplayLink driver is required for video output
- Linux and Unix are unsupported
- Paid streaming services such as Netflix may not work
Best for: Windows developers running a supported laptop who want up to four 4K screens and a large mix of desk peripherals.
Not ideal for: Linux or Unix developers, or anyone who wants video output without installing a DisplayLink driver.
- Ports:18
- Video outputs:3 HDMI and 3 DisplayPort
- Maximum display support:Up to 4 monitors on supported Windows laptops; up to 3 on macOS
- Maximum resolution:4K at 60Hz
- Laptop charging:Up to 100W (96W certified)
- Data transfer:Up to 10Gbps
- Driver and OS limits:DisplayLink required; Linux and Unix unsupported
Our verdict“Choose it for a supported Windows workstation where adding a fourth display matters more than driver simplicity or Linux compatibility.”
TobenONE 15-in-1 USB-C Docking Station with Dual 4K HDMI
Linux compatibility gives this 15-port dock a useful place in a developer roundup: it supports compatible Linux laptops and can connect two external 4K displays at 60Hz. Its USB mix includes 10Gbps ports, while Gigabit Ethernet, SD and microSD readers, and an audio jack reduce the need for separate adapters. The physical volume knob is a practical desk control that the display-heavy TobenONE DisplayLink dock does not emphasize. This model is a more straightforward fit for developers who need broad connectivity without that dock’s listed DisplayLink requirement, though compatibility still depends on a full-featured USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 host port. It also lacks an included charger, so the advertised 100W pass-through depends on bringing a compatible USB-C power adapter.
Pros:- Supports two external 4K displays at 60Hz
- Works with compatible Linux laptops
- Combines 15 ports with Gigabit Ethernet and SD/microSD readers
- Physical volume knob and 2-year warranty with lifetime technical support
Cons:- USB-C charger is not included
- Requires a full-featured USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 host connection
Best for: Linux, Windows, or ChromeOS developers with a full-featured USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4 laptop who need two 4K screens and card readers.
Not ideal for: Developers who need an included power adapter, more than two displays, or compatibility with laptops that have basic USB-C ports.
- Ports:15
- Video:2 HDMI, up to 4K at 60Hz
- USB ports:2 USB-C 10Gbps, 1 USB-A 10Gbps, 2 USB-A 5Gbps
- Power delivery:Up to 100W pass-through; charger not included
- Network:Gigabit Ethernet
- Card readers:SD and microSD 3.0
- Compatibility:Windows, ChromeOS, and Linux with full-featured USB-C or Thunderbolt 3/4
- Warranty:2 years; lifetime technical support
Our verdict“Pick this for a Linux-capable two-monitor desk with varied peripherals, provided you already have a compatible charger and host port.”
Plugable Dual 1080p HDMI Universal Docking Station
USB-A host support is the reason to choose this Plugable when a developer’s laptop lacks USB-C or Thunderbolt. It adds two HDMI displays at up to 1920×1200, Ethernet, audio, and a mix of USB ports through a USB-C or USB-A connection. Compared with the WAVLINK DisplayLink Dual-Monitor Docking Station, it gives up 4K output but retains a useful path for older USB-A machines and includes both host cable types. That makes it a fit for office coding, terminals, and documentation rather than pixel-dense design work. The compromises are substantial for a modern workstation: it does not charge the laptop, macOS requires DisplayLink software, and HDCP-protected content and DisplayPort monitors are unsupported. I’d choose it when host-port flexibility matters more than resolution.
Pros:- Connects through either USB-C or USB-A
- Adds two HDMI displays at up to 1920×1200
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet, audio, and six USB ports
- Works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS, with DisplayLink software required on macOS
Cons:- Does not charge the connected laptop
- Resolution is limited to 1920×1200
- Does not support HDCP-protected content or DisplayPort monitors
Best for: Developers using an older Windows, macOS, or ChromeOS laptop with USB-A who need two office displays and wired networking.
Not ideal for: Developers who need 4K monitors, laptop charging, DisplayPort connectivity, or protected media playback.
- Display outputs:2 HDMI, up to 1920×1200
- Host connectivity:USB-C or USB-A
- USB ports:2 USB 3.1 and 4 USB 2.0
- Other ports:Gigabit Ethernet and 3.5 mm audio
- Laptop charging:Not supported
- Compatibility:Windows 10+, macOS 11+ with DisplayLink, ChromeOS 100+
- Power:24 watts
- Weight:333 g
Our verdict“Choose it for basic dual-screen office work on an older USB-A laptop, but skip it for a high-resolution or charging-focused setup.”
WAVLINK DisplayLink Dual-Monitor Docking Station
Flexible HDMI and DisplayPort outputs make this WAVLINK useful when a developer’s two monitors do not share the same input type. It supports up to two 4K screens at 60Hz, plus six USB-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and audio. Against the Plugable Dual 1080p HDMI Universal Docking Station, the WAVLINK is the stronger match for sharper displays and mixed monitor connections; the Plugable remains more accommodating if the laptop only has USB-A and lower resolution is acceptable. The WAVLINK’s limits are also clear: it does not charge the laptop, video needs a DisplayLink driver, and Linux is unsupported. I’d put it ahead of basic office docks for a dual-4K desk, but below options with charging or broader operating-system support.
Pros:- Supports two monitors at up to 4K and 60Hz each
- Provides two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for flexible connections
- Six USB 3.0 Type-A ports plus Gigabit Ethernet and audio
- Works with USB-A, USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt laptops
Cons:- Does not provide laptop charging
- Requires a DisplayLink driver for video output
- Linux is unsupported
Best for: Windows, macOS, or ChromeOS developers with two 4K monitors that use a mix of HDMI and DisplayPort.
Not ideal for: Linux users, developers who want one-cable laptop charging, or those avoiding DisplayLink software.
- Display technology:DisplayLink
- Maximum displays:2
- Maximum resolution:4K at 60Hz per monitor
- Video ports:2 HDMI and 2 DisplayPort
- USB ports:6 USB 3.0 Type-A
- Other ports:Gigabit Ethernet and 3.5 mm audio
- Data transfer:Up to 5Gbps
- Laptop charging:Not supported
Our verdict“Choose this for a mixed-input dual-4K workstation when display flexibility matters more than charging or Linux support.”
Plugable 13-in-1 USB-C Triple Monitor Docking Station with 100W Charging
Three HDMI outputs and up to 100W charging make this Plugable a practical pick for developers who want to add screens and power through one dock. It also brings USB ports, an SD reader, Gigabit Ethernet, and audio to the desk. Compared with the TobenONE DisplayLink Docking Station for 3 Monitors, it tops out at three displays rather than up to four on supported Windows laptops, but its HDMI layout and 20W front USB-C charging suit a focused three-screen workspace. The display limits vary by port: HDMI 1 reaches 4K at 30Hz, while HDMI 2 and 3 are limited to 1920×1200 at 60Hz. On macOS, multi-monitor use requires DisplayLink Manager, and protected streaming content is unsupported. This is best for coding and productivity screens, not media playback.
Pros:- Connects up to three extended HDMI displays
- Delivers up to 100W laptop charging and 20W front USB-C charging
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet, SD card reader, and audio in/out
- Supports Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS
Cons:- Only HDMI 1 supports up to 4K, at 30Hz; the other two are limited to 1920×1200 at 60Hz
- macOS requires DisplayLink Manager for multi-monitor support
- Protected content playback such as Netflix or Hulu is unsupported
Best for: Developers who want a single-cable, three-HDMI workspace with laptop charging and Ethernet on a compatible USB-C laptop.
Not ideal for: Users who need three 4K 60Hz displays, protected streaming playback, or a setup without DisplayLink software on macOS.
- Ports:13
- Video outputs:3 HDMI
- Display support:HDMI 1 up to 4K at 30Hz; HDMI 2 and 3 up to 1920×1200 at 60Hz
- Laptop charging:Up to 100W
- Front USB-C charging:20W
- Additional connectivity:4 USB-A 5Gbps, SD card reader, Gigabit Ethernet, audio in/out
- Compatibility:Windows 10+, macOS 11+, ChromeOS; USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt
- Weight:400 g
Our verdict“Pick it for a three-screen HDMI coding desk with laptop charging, as long as the display limits and protected-content restriction fit your work.”

How We Picked
I ranked these developer docking stations by how well their stated capabilities address common desk setups: running one or more external displays, charging a laptop, connecting peripherals, and providing wired networking. I gave more weight to docks with clear support for demanding workflows, such as Thunderbolt 4, higher power delivery, or multiple display outputs, while treating simple USB-C hubs as better fits for lighter setups. Product names and listed specifications do not establish that every port works at full speed simultaneously, so buyers should confirm their laptop’s requirements and the dock’s detailed compatibility information.
The order reflects the balance of capability and likely fit for developers, rather than port count alone. Broadly useful choices with clear charging and display strengths rank ahead of models whose main advantage is a narrower need, such as basic 1080p output or a particular triple-monitor arrangement. DisplayLink docks remain useful for systems that need an alternate way to add screens, but their software dependency is a meaningful tradeoff. Where the supplied product details are limited, I avoid treating unlisted specifications as established facts.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Developer Docking Stations
Before choosing a dock, start with the laptop and monitors already on your desk. A developer setup may need multiple screens, but compatibility, power, and the way you use peripherals can matter more than a large port count. These checks can help you avoid buying a dock that looks capable on paper yet misses a requirement in your actual setup.
Check Your Laptop’s Display Path
USB-C describes a connector, not a guarantee that video will work through it. Check whether your laptop’s port supports DisplayPort Alt Mode or Thunderbolt, then compare that with the dock’s connection requirements. Also confirm how many independent external displays your operating system and laptop support; a dock cannot always override a host limit. This matters especially for triple-display models, since a dock’s advertised screen count may rely on DisplayLink or a specific host configuration. If your laptop is managed by an employer, confirm that you can install any required display software. Matching the dock to the computer first prevents a port-rich device from becoming an expensive adapter.
Match Screen Count, Resolution, and Refresh Rate
Decide what each display will show before focusing on the maximum number of screens. Code, documentation, logs, and video calls can benefit from multiple monitors, while one high-resolution display may be a better fit for a compact desk. Read the supported resolution and refresh rate for each output when multiple screens are connected; a headline such as “dual 4K” may not describe every simultaneous configuration. Cables, monitor inputs, and laptop graphics capabilities also affect the final result. A common mistake is counting HDMI ports without checking whether both produce independent desktops. Choose around the screens you own and the layout you expect to keep.
Treat Charging as a Laptop-Specific Requirement
Compare the dock’s power delivery with the wattage your laptop needs under load. A lightweight machine may run comfortably from a lower-power dock, while a workstation laptop can charge slowly or lose battery during intensive builds if the supply falls short. Check whether the advertised power reaches the host laptop or is shared across connected devices. A dock’s included adapter rating and its USB-C charging output are not always the same figure. If you already use a high-wattage laptop charger, decide whether one-cable convenience is worth changing your setup. Paying for more power makes sense when your machine can use it.
Choose Native Video or DisplayLink Deliberately
Native Thunderbolt or USB-C video typically relies on the laptop’s built-in display support and can keep setup straightforward. DisplayLink uses software to add display outputs, which can help when a computer’s native display path is limited. That convenience introduces a driver dependency, possible workplace installation restrictions, and behavior that may differ by operating system or workload. Check current support for your exact laptop and operating system before buying a DisplayLink dock. Developers who switch between personal and locked-down work computers should weigh that extra setup carefully. The right choice depends on compatibility and policy as much as the number of screens.
Count the Peripherals You Need at Once
List the devices that stay connected at your desk: keyboard, mouse, storage, audio gear, webcam, network cable, and any specialized development hardware. Then check the dock’s port types and speeds, not only its total port count. Several USB-A ports may help with older peripherals, while fast USB-C or Ethernet can matter more for external storage and large transfers. Front-facing access can be useful for temporary devices, whereas rear ports keep a permanent setup tidy. Remember that docks share bandwidth across their connection to the laptop, so many active devices may compete for capacity. A smaller dock with the right ports can serve better than a larger one with ports you never use.
Plan for Heat, Placement, and Desk Changes
A dock often stays connected all day, so its placement and cable layout affect day-to-day usability. Check the adapter size, cable reach, and whether the dock can sit where its ports remain accessible. A compact hub may suit travel or a minimal desk, while a larger powered dock can make a fixed workstation easier to connect. Leave room for airflow around powered equipment, especially when several displays and peripherals run together. If you regularly move between home and office, compare the convenience of one dock at each desk with carrying a single unit. Build and layout are practical buying factors because they shape how often the dock becomes a nuisance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a dual-monitor dock work with any USB-C laptop?
No. The laptop’s USB-C port needs a video-capable mode supported by the dock, and the computer must support the number of external displays you want. Some laptops have USB-C ports intended only for data or charging. Check the laptop’s specifications and the dock’s compatibility notes, including operating-system limits. If native video support falls short, a DisplayLink model may be an option, provided you can install its software.
Should I pick Thunderbolt or DisplayLink for three monitors?
Start with your laptop’s ports and graphics support, because neither connection type guarantees three independent displays on every system. Thunderbolt can provide a direct, high-bandwidth connection, but the host still sets limits on displays and resolutions. DisplayLink can extend a setup through software and may suit computers with limited native display support. It also adds driver and workplace-policy considerations. Verify your exact computer, operating system, and desired screen arrangement before deciding.
How much charging power should a developer dock provide?
Use the laptop manufacturer’s recommended power rating as your reference, then check the dock’s actual host charging output. A dock that supplies less may still work, but charging can slow or the battery may drain during demanding tasks. This is more likely with high-performance laptops running builds, virtual machines, or external displays. Also distinguish the dock’s power adapter rating from the wattage delivered to the computer. If the laptop has a separate charger, keeping it may be the simplest option.
Can I connect two 4K monitors and still use fast USB devices?
Possibly, but the answer depends on the dock’s bandwidth, connection type, host computer, display configuration, and peripheral speeds. Look for details about simultaneous monitor resolutions and refresh rates, plus USB data speeds while the screens are active. A port list by itself does not show how bandwidth is shared. Confirm that your laptop can drive both displays at the settings you want. If fast external storage is central to your work, prioritize documented bandwidth and test compatibility information over a high port count.
Is a dock with more ports always a better choice for a developer?
No. Extra ports help only when they match devices you use, and a larger powered dock may take up more desk space than a simple setup requires. Start by listing the peripherals you keep connected and note which need high data speeds, wired networking, or dedicated power. Then compare those needs with the dock’s port types and display support. A focused USB-C dock can be a better fit for one monitor and a few accessories, while a broader model earns its place on a permanent multi-screen desk. Leave room for devices you expect to add, but do not treat port count as a performance measure.
Conclusion
For most developers with a compatible Thunderbolt laptop, I recommend the Plugable Thunderbolt 4 Dock as the best overall balance of dual-monitor support and 100W charging. The 8-in-1 USB-C docks are the value-minded starting point for simpler desks, though buyers should verify their display and charging limits before choosing between them. For a premium, higher-power Dell setup, the WD19S is the clearest fit; beginners with modest needs can start with a straightforward USB-C dock after confirming laptop video support. Choose the D6000S or a DisplayLink model when multi-screen flexibility is the priority and its compatibility requirements suit your computer. Match the dock to your laptop’s display path, power needs, and actual peripherals, then choose the smallest option that covers that setup.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















