🔍 Read the full analysis: The ChatGPT Pro Plan Has Changed: Here’s What You Get on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200’s Work and Codex allowance and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match those who had the higher one; prices and several other limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned ChatGPT Pro 200 usage cut on October 29 and increased the shared allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The company says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, while prices remain unchanged; the change does not double every ChatGPT limit.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so added use in one leaves less available for the other. The company’s updated Pro help page says new subscribers receive the updated amounts and existing subscribers get them automatically, without waiting for a billing renewal.
For Pro 200, priced at $200 a month, OpenAI canceled the reduction it had announced in September. The help page clarifies that only subscribers on the lower allowance get an increase: their allowance now matches the higher one. People who already had that higher allowance keep it. The source’s account of OpenAI’s September scale says this restores the lower tier to 20 times the Plus allowance, rather than the planned 10 times.
The adjustment is limited. Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches its higher limit. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI also says Dots, its always-on agents, retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What the New Allowances Change
The change matters to subscribers who use Work for longer research and document tasks or rely on Codex for coding. More shared allowance can give them additional room before reaching a usage limit, but it does not mean twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage varies with the model, task and speed mode.
For organizations, the update changes the amount of included use attached to some seats, not the published monthly prices. Business Premium seats also get increased usage, but the available official release note does not specify how much. That makes it harder for administrators to forecast capacity from the announcement alone. Teams should keep seat allowances separate from API budgets; the source material does not say the API terms changed.
For individuals comparing tiers, the headline “doubles limits” needs qualification. The clearest increase applies to Work and Codex on Pro 100 and Pro 500, while Pro 200 restores a previous higher allowance for those who had been assigned the lower one. The weekly chat limits and other plan features do not all change together. Checking the account’s usage page is more useful than assuming every limit doubled.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Keys S Wireless Keyboard, Graphite

LG 34GX90SA-W 34-inch Ultragear WQHD OLED Curved Gaming Monitor

LG UltraGear 32GX850A-B 32-Inch 4K UHD Glossy OLED Gaming Monitor
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From September Cut to Reversal
The change follows a short, unsettled period for Pro subscribers. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement was his explanation, not a usage figure disclosed in the October announcement.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its release note said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive more information by email. On October 29, the company said it had canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction, one day before the cut was due to take effect, and raised Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500.
Sottiaux wrote on X, “We heard your kind feedback.” His post described doubling usage limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium. However, the more detailed OpenAI help page distinguishes Work and Codex allowances from chat limits. Where the broad wording in the post conflicts with that page, the help page gives the more specific account of what changed.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo
Business Limits and Usage Detail
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state the size of the increase. Sottiaux’s post says it is doubling, a broader claim than the official note specifies. The exact Business Premium allowance therefore remains unclear from the release note, and companies may need to check their plan details for account-specific information.
OpenAI has not provided a fixed conversion between an allowance and the amount of work a person can complete. It says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. The change also does not establish that Plus, Business Standard, Go or Free allowances have changed; those plans were not mentioned in the October 29 announcement. No API pricing or allowance change is stated in the material available here.
Check Your Account’s Updated Limits
OpenAI says the revised allowances are effective immediately and that existing subscribers do not need to take action or wait for renewal. Subscribers can review their account’s usage page to see the limits applying to their plan. Business administrators should confirm the Premium seat allowance in their workspace, since the official release note does not give a number.
The next practical point for users is whether their work patterns actually encounter the shared Work and Codex cap. OpenAI has not announced a further change or supplied a date for another review. Until it provides more detail, subscribers should treat the stated plan-specific limits—not broad claims that every usage limit doubled—as the basis for comparing plans.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT Pro plans received more Work and Codex usage?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. The change does not double every limit on those plans.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get a doubled allowance?
No. OpenAI’s help page says subscribers on the lower Pro 200 allowance now match those who already had the higher allowance. Subscribers already on the higher allowance keep it.
Did ChatGPT Pro prices change?
No price change is stated in the October 29 announcement. The listed Pro prices remain $100, $200 and $500 per month for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, respectively.
Are GPT-6 Pro chat limits doubled too?
Not across the board. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. On Pro 200, the lower weekly limit now matches the higher one, according to the updated help page.
Do existing subscribers need to renew or contact OpenAI?
No action is required, according to OpenAI. The company says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
